GPA Banner1.jpg

NATOA Honors Senator Jay Rockefeller

September 28, 2012 5:05 PM
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – September 28, 2012 – The National Association of Telecommunications Officers and Advisors (NATOA) presented Senator Jay Rockefeller with its 2012 Jane E. Lawton Commemorative Award for his efforts to provide America’s first responders with a nationwide, interoperable wireless broadband system.

“Senator Rockefeller has worked tirelessly to fulfill the goal of building a national public safety broadband network that will serve the needs of our first responders and protect the health and welfare of all our citizens,” said NATOA President Joanne Hovis.

The award is presented annually to an extraordinary champion of local government interests in communications. It was created in memory of the Honorable Jane E. Lawton, who served as Mayor of Chevy Chase, MD; Delegate to the Maryland State House; and President of NATOA. Past recipients include Senator Kay Bailey Hutchinson, Congresswoman Tammy Baldwin, and 2011’s recipient Lenexa City Councilman Andy Huckaba.

The award was presented at NATOA’s 32nd Annual Conference in New Orleans, LA.