NATOA Congratulates Anna M. Gomez on FCC Confirmation

Community, Industry, Top Issues,

Contact: Tonya Rideout (703) 519-8035

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – September 7, 2023 – The National Association of Telecommunications Officers and Advisors (NATOA) congratulates Federal Communications Commission Nominee Anna M. Gomez on her Confirmation today. 

NATOA's President, Michael Russo and President-elect Rick Assmus, who will assume leadership at our annual meeting next month, issued the following statement: 

“NATOA congratulates Anna M. Gomez on her Senate confirmation as the 5th Commissioner of the Federal Communications Commission (FCC). 

“Anna Gomez is a stellar telecommunications attorney with extensive policy experience in domestic and international communications law who returns to the commission after decades of public service.

“NATOA welcomes the opportunity to work with Commissioner Anna Gomez at such a critical moment in our country’s telecommunications development with such tremendous broadband investment under the Bipartisan Infrastructure Bill (IIJA) for the Affordable Connectivity Program (ACP), the Broadband Equity, Access, and Deployment (BEAD) Program, Digital Equity Grant Program, Tribal Broadband Connectivity, Reconnect and Rural Broadband Programs. 

“We welcome a full Commission during this unprecedented opportunity created by the Biden administration to use federal funds to bring affordable communications services to those who have been left behind for far too long.  

“We look forward to working with the Chairwoman and all the Commissioners to achieve this goal and to advance NATOA’s efforts to promote and enhance universal and equitable broadband access, public safety, localism, consumer protection and the public interest.

“Our federal partners are critical to NATOA’s efforts to protect consumers, enhance public safety, promote and expand community media and advance other local government communications goals by advocating for broadband, digital equity and inclusion, and preservation of local authority in our public rights of way."