Jane E. Lawton Commemorative Award

Presented annually to an elected official to recognize extraordinary service on behalf of local governments and communities throughout the United States.

Jane LawtonJane E. Lawton     1944 - 2007

           Created in 2008, the Jane E. Lawton Commemorative Award is annually designated in memory of the  Honorable Jane E. Lawton, a past president of NATOA, for her career-long efforts to  promote community interests in communications.

The nomination is recommended and approved by the NATOA Board of Directors. 

Who are the Past Recipients of the award?

  • 2008: Marilyn Praisner (posthumously)
  • 2009: Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison
  • 2010: Congresswoman Tammy Baldwin
  • 2011: Andy Huckaba, City Council Member, Lenexa, KS
  • 2012: Senator Jay Rockefeller
  • 2013: Senator Barbara Mikulski
  • 2014: Mayor Brian Wahler, Piscataway, NJ
  • 2015: Mayor Eric Garcetti, City of Los Angeles, CA
  • 2016: No Award Presented
  • 2017: Mayor Gary Resnick, Wilton Manors, FL
  • 2018: Mayor Sam Liccardo, San Jose, CA
  • 2019: Senator Ed Markey
  • 2020: No Award Presented
  • 2021: Congressman James E. Clyburn